Shopping for Podcasts

In my English class we have been listening to podcasts as independent reading. For the first semester, I chose to listen to Serial, which is a podcast investigating criminal cases. I found it very interesting and would have loved to keep listening, but as the second semester starts, its time to find a new podcast series to listen to.

Originally when we were first picking podcasts we did a bit of exploring and listened to the first fifteen minutes of a few different podcasts. I had listened to many that I liked, but found Serial to be the most interesting at the time. When I found out that I had to pick a new podcast series I went back to the ones that I had originally looked at a few months ago. Stuff You Should Know, a podcast series produced by Stuff Media, had originally caught my eye, but I had ignored it at first because I’m a crime junkie and chose Serial. I listened to the episode, “Does the Five Second Rule Work” which was hosted by Josh Clark and Chuck Bryant. Soon after beginning the episode I remembered how intriguing the series was. Therefore, I decided that I would chose Stuff You Should Know as my second independent podcast choice.

In the episode, the line between a germaphobe and a non germaphobe is discussed and is said to be drawn by the five second rule: your willingness to pick something up off the floor and eat it. It seemingly all depends on what the food is, how long it has been there, and the location of where it was dropped. It was then discussed that when dropping a food, the longer it is on the ground the more bacteria jumps onto it, even if it is there for under five seconds. They gave ways to make the five second rule more effective. For example, taking of your shoes inside because it decreases the amount of bacteria on the floor of the house. Besides the content of the episode, I love the humor that the two bring to the conversation. They banter back and fourth and make commentary related to their personal lives which makes the episodes much more fun to listen to. 

As I dive further into learning about stuff I should know, I hope to enjoy the series more and more!

https://www.stuffyoushouldknow.com/podcasts/does-the-five-second-rule-work.htm

Leave a comment