Making a Procrastinator Efficient

When it comes to doing chores and homework, I can be quite the procrastinator. It can often take me far longer than it should to prepare for a test or complete a worksheet.

Lately, I have been trying to find new ways to make my work get done faster.

I found that the root of my procrastination seemed to originate with my phone. Every time my phone would light up, I naturally would glance over at it to see who had texted me. Just glancing at it would take my focus away and I would have to re-find the spot where I had left off what I was doing. When I would pick it up it would also get distracted scrolling through Instagram or reading group chats. The time passes much quicker when your on your phone and before I knew it a whole forty five minutes had passed and I had gotten nothing done. After a while I got frustrated with being up later than I needed to be because I had wasted away the whole afternoon. I started putting my phone face down and out of my reach. This way I didn’t see it light up all the time. Also, I am less likely to get up to check my phone rather than if it was within reaching distance.

I also went into the settings on my phone and turned all notifications on silent so that my phone didn’t even vibrate. This way I wouldn’t know when I had gotten a notification.

I also found it useful to make a small to-do list with allotted times to do everything. This helped to get things done faster because I wasn’t constantly switching from one thing to the next trying to get it all done at once.

This is an example of the to-do lists I have made.

productivity.JPG

These were just some strategies I used to help me be more productive. If you have any ideas comment them below!

Leave a comment